top of page

The Rooms Are Ready...



Photo by Victoria Borodinova (Not my actual room)

It has been a fun yet daunting task to prepare my home for children. After making half a dozen trips to Walmart and Lowes, I finally have the rooms prepared for children to temporarily live in my home.

Recently, I have been buying new pillows, mattress pads and microfiber sheets. Even as I type, I am thinking that I need to replace my $4 pillows with $9 ones to ensure the best nights sleep for the future kids who will be afraid to lay their head down in a strangers home. Furniture has been moved around several times and it's on my to do list to organize my fridge and buy closet organizers.

My good friend Melissa joked that I was "nesting". I had to look the word up because all I could think of was an eagle spending 3 months just to prepare a sturdy yet soft nest for her young. According to americanpregnancy.com, "Nesting during pregnancy is the overwhelming desire to get your home ready for your new baby. The nesting instinct is strongest in the later weeks coming up on delivery." Maybe that means I will have a child in my home sooner rather than later :)

One verse that came to me today was John 14:2-3, "My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am."

The idea that Jesus is preparing a place for me in eternity is humbling. He is making it perfect and when the time is right, He will come and take me to that special place, His presence! I imagine that He is doing much more than buying $9 pillows and microfiber sheets, but in a small way I'd like to think that I can relate to His love for children who may not even love him yet.



Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page