top of page

Press On Women of God


A few times this week I have heard the phrase "You've got to press". The more I hear it, the more I think that there is something that God wants me to glean from that phrase. Generally, most people would agree that pressing on means to not give up. But does it mean more than that?

When I think about my life, I'd like to think that I don't give up on things. There are so many areas of my life where I feel virtually unstoppable. You might feel the same way.

However, if I am REALLY honest, when it comes to my personal ministry (writing, speaking, coaching, blogging,etc) I give up ALL the time. I never permanently give up, I just take breaks when I feel that things are too hard. If things are not going my way, or if no one shows up to my event or books me to speak, or buys a book...I get discouraged.

I start thinking "Maybe it's not God's timing or maybe I heard God wrong." I convince myself that essentially God wants me to give up but then I get annoyed (at myself) when I see people living out their purpose more "successfully" than I am. The one common denominator that I find in all success stories is the press.

I looked up press and it said "move or cause to move into a position of contact with something by exerting continuous physical force.

The word "continuous" hit me like a ton of bricks. When it comes to my personal ministry, I have not been continuous. I experience a season of success and one thing happens that brings me down and I take a break. Sometimes I blame it on God, sometimes I blame it on finances, or even my full time job. I always have an excuse to take a break. Then I receive one bit of encouragement and then I start up again and then fall back down. It's a vicious cycle...can anyone relate?

I dare you to CONTINUOUSLY press forward regardless of your internal and external circumstances. Most people will never know what God has in store for them BEYOND the continual press. Every time you stop, you lose momentum!

When you have a God-given purpose on your life, the enemy will send momentum stoppers so that you are unable to PRESS. Momentum stoppers can be anything from self-doubt to financial struggles.

I know that I am in a season of pressing. I have had so many things happen to slow me down and make me want to give up but I want to press continuously...let's press together!!

Philippians 3:12-16 (MSG)

12-14 I’m not saying that I have this all together, that I have it made. But I am well on my way, reaching out for Christ, who has so wondrously reached out for me. Friends, don’t get me wrong: By no means do I count myself an expert in all of this, but I’ve got my eye on the goal, where God is beckoning us onward—to Jesus. I’m off and running, and I’m not turning back.

15-16 So let’s keep focused on that goal, those of us who want everything God has for us. If any of you have something else in mind, something less than total commitment, God will clear your blurred vision—you’ll see it yet! Now that we’re on the right track, let’s stay on it.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page